Georgetown Law Alumni Serving in 114th Congress

January 6, 2015 —

On January 6, Congress gets underway with 14 Georgetown Law alumni and one faculty member serving the nation — meaning an even stronger presence on Capitol Hill. The Law Center is second among law schools, after Harvard, in the number of law alumni serving in the 114th Congress.

“We are especially pleased to have 15 members of our community continuing the Law Center’s long tradition of government service,” said Georgetown Law Dean William M. Treanor. “We congratulate the newest alumni members of the 114th Congress, and wish all of them the best in the years ahead.”  

Dan Sullivan, L’93, MSFS’93 (R-Alaska) joins four other Georgetown Law alumni already serving in the U.S. Senate: Sen. Richard Durbin, F’66, L’69 (D-Ill.), Sen. Mazie Hirono, L’78 (D-Hawaii), Sen. Mark Kirk, L’92 (R-Ill.) and Sen. Patrick Leahy, L’64, H’94 (D-Vt.). Five is the highest number of Georgetown Law alumni to serve in the Senate in a particular session of Congress; five served in the 111th Congress as well.

In the House, Barbara Comstock, L’86 (R-Va.) and Ted Lieu, L’94 (D-Calif.) join seven fellow Georgetown Law alumni: Rep. David Cicilline, L’86 (D-R.I.), Rep. John Delaney, L’88 (D-Md.), Rep. Lois Frankel, L’73 (D-Fla.), Rep. Steny Hoyer, L’66 (D-Md.), Rep. Ann McLane Kuster, L’84 (D-N.H.), Rep. Christopher Van Hollen, L’90 (D-Md.) and Rep. Peter Visclosky, LL.M.’82 (D-Ind.).

Professor Eleanor Holmes Norton, who currently teaches a year-long Lawmaking and Statutory Interpretation Seminar at the Law Center, has continued to serve as the District of Columbia delegate to the U. S. House of Representatives since her election in 1990.

Several Georgetown Law alumni have leadership roles in 114th Congress, including Leahy, who is the ranking Democrat on the Senate Judiciary Committee and Senate President Pro Tempore Emeritus. Leahy, who has served 40 years in the Senate, was honored with the Law Center’s Robert F. Drinan, S.J., Law Alumni Public Service Award in October. Durbin is the minority (Democratic) whip in the Senate. In the House, Hoyer is the minority (Democratic) whip and Van Hollen is the ranking member on the House Budget Committee. 

On The Web

Maps & Directions

Google Location Map Georgetown University Law Center 600 New Jersey Avenue NW Washington, DC 20001