NEWS & Events

In the News

Media Graphic

Zika Virus Media Coverage

The following document represents media coverage of the Zika virus involving Georgetown faculty from campuses including the O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law, Georgetown University Medical Center, and the chemistry and biology departments at Georgetown University. Read More

You are viewing a segment of In The News stories. Click here to view all stories.

2016

Zika Colloquium at the O'Neill Institute
Wednesday, August 31 with Lawrence Gostin, Daniel Lucey and Anthony Fauci (from O’Neill’s Zika colloquium)
CSPAN Tags: emerging diseases global health public health

Unintended Consequence: Blood Banks Could Feel The Squeeze From Zika Advisories
Wednesday, July 6 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Kaiser Health News Tags: emerging diseases

The World Can’t Even Find Pocket Change to Fight Zika
Thursday, June 30 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Bloomberg Tags: emerging diseases

Georgetown's Gostin on Zika, Other Public Health Threats: U.S. Needs Comprehensive Plan
Tuesday, June 28 with Lawrence O. Gostin
DC Bar Tags: emerging diseases public health

As Zika Looms, Us Health Officials Worry About The Neighbors
Monday, June 27 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Associated Press Tags: emerging diseases

World Health Assembly establishes new health emergencies program
Friday, May 27 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Infectious Disease News Tags: global health public health

WHO Aims To Reform Itself But Health Experts Aren't Yet Impressed
Wednesday, May 25 with Lawrence O. Gostin
NPR Goats and Soda Tags: WHO

World Health Organization Considers Measures To Quicken Outbreak Response
Wednesday, May 25 with Lawrence O. Gostin
NRP All Things Considered Tags: emerging diseases public health WHO

WHO Plans To Reshape Itself To Better Handle International Outbreaks
Tuesday, May 24 with Lawrence O. Gostin
NPR All Things Considered Tags: WHO emerging diseases public health

Inside the World Bank's Pandemic Emergency Facility
Monday, May 23 with Lawrence O. Gostin
DevEx Tags: emerging diseases global health public health

Health officials to weigh declaring global emergency as yellow fever strikes southwest Africa
Wednesday, May 18 with Lawrence O. Gostin and Daniel Lucey
Los Angeles Times Tags: global health public health emerging diseases WHO Ebola

Has the yellow fever outbreak tipped over into a global health emergency?
Tuesday, May 17 with Lawrence O. Gostin and Daniel Lucey
STAT News Tags: emerging diseases global health public health

You've never heard of the powerful doctors making decisions about your health
Monday, March 7 with Lawrence O. Gostin
The Washington Post Tags: public health

AIDS: How Far the World has Come and How Far it Needs To Go to Get to Zero
Wednesday, February 17 with Lawrence O. Gostin
The Conversation Africa Tags: HIV/AIDS global health law

Georgetown Professors Criticize Congress
Friday, February 5 with Lawrence O. Gostin
The Hoya Tags: ACA

Lobbyists distort our idea of a healthy diet
Thursday, January 21 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Al Jazeera America

Doctor, lawyer upbraid Congress for ‘undermining science’ on mammo screening
Wednesday, January 20 with Kenneth Lin and Lawrence O. Gostin
Health Imaging

Congressional spending bill section effectively undermines science and the health of women
Tuesday, January 19 with Kenneth Lin and Lawrence O. Gostin
7th Space Interactive

JAMA “viewpoint” offers same old rationale for Physician-Assisted Suicide
Tuesday, January 19 with Lawrence O. Gostin
National Right to Life News Today

Experts Evaluate What They Learned About Ebola
Thursday, January 14 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Voice of America

West Africa's Ebola Epidemic Is Over
Thursday, January 14 with Lawrence O. Gostin
US News & World Report Tags: public health Ebola

When should women get mammograms? Congress and some key experts disagree
Monday, January 11 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Washington Post Tags: public health

Voices Raised, Pro and Con, After Obama's Proposals on Guns
Friday, January 8 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Catholic News Service Tags: public health

Gun Control Is a Public Health Issue, Experts Say
Tuesday, January 5 with Lawrence O. Gostin
NBC News.com Tags: gun control

2015

Ebola review calls for reforms to boost global outbreak response
Monday, November 23 with Lawrence O. Gostin
CIDRAP Tags: Ebola global health WHO

‘Political Window’ Of Opportunity To Reform IHR ‘Rapidly Closing’
Monday, November 23 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Kaiser Family Health Foundation Tags: Ebola global health WHO

Some health experts say the USA hasn't learned key lessons from Ebola experience
Tuesday, September 22 with Lawrence O. Gostin
USA Today Tags: Ebola global health

Year of airport screening doesn't catch Ebola
Tuesday, September 22 with Lawrence O. Gostin
USA Today Tags: Ebola global health

Global health expert shares lessons learned about Ebola, future of world health
Monday, September 14 with Lawrence O. Gostin
International Business Times Tags: Ebola Georgetown University

Speaking with: Lawrence Gostin on Ebola, the WHO and the future of global health
Monday, September 14 with Lawrence O. Gostin
The Conversation Tags: Georgetown University Ebola WHO

Analysis offers insights on how to execute National HIV-AIDS strategy
Friday, July 31 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Vaccine News Daily Tags: HIV/AIDS public health vaccines

World must prepare for viruses like 'war'
Tuesday, July 28 with Lawrence O. Gostin
9News.com.au Tags: public health emerging diseases global health

Being shamed by a CEO turned this mom into a health privacy advocate
Tuesday, July 21 with Lawrence O. Gostin
PBS NewsHour Tags: health privacy

As More Research Emerges, Soda Taxes and Limits No Longer Seem as Radical
Tuesday, June 30 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Healthline Tags: soda tax sugar

California Gov. Jerry Brown Signs Mandatory Vaccine Law
Tuesday, June 30 with Lawrence O. Gostin
National Journal Tags: vaccines public health SB277

Bernie Sanders: U.S. 'only major country' that doesn't guarantee right to health care
Monday, June 29 with Lawrence O. Gostin
PolitiFact Tags: ACA universal health care rights

Vaccine bill could be a trend setter
Sunday, June 28 with Lawrence O. Gostin
The San Diego Union-Tribune Tags: vaccines public health SB277

Assessing the Threat of MERS
Tuesday, June 23 with Lawrence O. Gostin, Daniel Lucey
Occupational Health & Safety Tags: MERS WHO emerging diseases

MERS spread shows signs of slowing in S Korea
Saturday, June 20 with Lawrence O. Gostin, Daniel Lucey
AsiaOne Tags: MERS WHO emerging diseases

Expert: US Trans Fats Phase Out Could Impact Developing Countries
Tuesday, June 16 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Voice of America Tags: trans fat FDA public health

WHO's on First? The Way Forward to Regain Respect
Friday, June 12 with Lawrence O. Gostin
MedPage Today Tags: global health Ebola WHO

As the Mers crisis deepens, is the WHO fit for purpose?
Tuesday, June 9 with Lawrence O. Gostin
South China Morning Post Tags: MERS WHO emerging diseases

‘Devious Defecator’ Case Tests Genetics Law
Friday, May 29 with Lawrence O. Gostin
The New York Times Tags: GINA genetic testing

World Health Organization Considers Measures To Quicken Outbreak Response
Monday, May 25 with Lawrence O. Gostin
NPR All Things Considered Tags: global health Ebola WHO

WHO Calls For $100 Million Emergency Fund, Doctor 'SWAT Team'
Thursday, May 21 with Lawrence O. Gostin
NPR Tags: global health Ebola WHO

Ebola Failures Prompt WHO Rethink
Wednesday, May 13 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Nature Tags: WHO Ebola Global Health

Can The Ebola Outbreak Rejuvenate Global Health Security?
Saturday, May 9 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Newshour Tags: The Lancet Ebola Global Health WHO

Ebola declared dead in Liberia
Saturday, May 9 with Lawrence O. Gostin
CNN Tags: Ebola WHO

What overall impact will the Ebola crisis have on Global Health Security?
Saturday, May 9 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Medical News Today Tags: Global Health Law Ebola WHO

Liberia set to be declared Ebola-free
Friday, May 8 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Australian Broadcast Corp/Radio Tags: The Lancet Ebola Global Health WHO

Experts air Ebola lessons ahead of World Health Assembly
Thursday, May 7 with Lawrence O. Gostin
CIDRAP Tags: Global Health Law The Lancet Ebola Georgetown University WHO

Fake, low-grade drugs hinder drive against disease, weaken trust - researchers - TRFN
Thursday, May 7 with Lawrence O. Gostin
Reuters Tags: The Lancet

How to Build a New Global Health Framework
Thursday, May 7 with Lawrence O. Gostin, Eric A. Friedman
O'Neill Institute health and law experts offer specific steps for creating a new global health system Tags: The Lancet Ebola WHO global health

Key Issues Facing the 2015 World Health Assembly, from Ebola to WHO Reform
Thursday, May 7 with Lawrence O. Gostin
KFF Press Briefing Tags: WHO Ebola Global Health

African CDC needs more money and a strong leader
Friday, April 24 with Lawrence O Gostin
Nature

Big Changes Needed
Wednesday, April 22 with Lawrence O Gostin
Chicago Tribune

Comments on Ebola
Friday, April 17 with Lawrence O Gostin
BBC World News

Could Sex Have Brought Ebola Back to Liberia?
Wednesday, March 25 with Lawrence O Gostin
NBC News

Emails: UN health agency resisted declaring Ebola emergency
Friday, March 20 with Lawrence O Gostin
Associated Press

After 130 Days, Klain Ends Ebola Czar Term
Friday, March 6 with Ana S Ayala, Lawrence O Gostin
The Hoya

Tough Road For Health-Related Tax Code Changes
Monday, February 23 with Lawrence O Gostin
KCUR

Vaccinations Are States’ Call
Monday, February 16 with Lawrence O Gostin
New York Times

The Ebola crisis, WHO and missing funds to fight the epidemic
Sunday, February 15 with Lawrence O Gostin
Digital Journal

WHO May Lose Credibility After Ebola
Sunday, February 15 with Ana S Ayala, Lawrence O Gostin
MedPage Today

Chicago-area measles cases put spotlight on day care centers
Saturday, February 7 with Lawrence O Gostin
Associated Press

Critics Say Ebola Crisis Was WHO's Big Failure. Will Reform Follow?
Friday, February 6 with Lawrence O Gostin
NPR

Op-Ed: States Must Tighten Laws That Let Parents Opt Out of Vaccinating Kids
Wednesday, February 4 with Lawrence O Gostin
National Law Journal

Jim Yong Kim's plan to prevent future pandemics
Wednesday, January 28 with Lawrence O Gostin
devex

The WHO Adopts Reforms After Bungling Ebola
Sunday, January 25 with Lawrence O Gostin
The Associated Press

W.H.O. Members Endorse Resolution to Improve Response to Health Emergencies
Sunday, January 25 with Lawrence O Gostin
The New York Times

Better Training, Funding Could Improve U.S. Response to Biological Outbreaks
Thursday, January 15 with Lawrence O Gostin
BioPrepWatch

CDC and Flu After Ebloa
Wednesday, January 14 with Lawrence O Gostin
Newsmax

Public Health Services Almost Absent in Bangladesh
Wednesday, January 7 with Lawrence O Gostin
Bangladesh News

Quarantines
Thursday, January 1 with Lawrence O Gostin
NPR

2014

US Disease Preps-Low Grades
Sunday, December 28 with Lawrence O Gostin
USA Today

Report Gives USA Low Grades on Preparing for Disease
Thursday, December 18 with Lawrence O Gostin
USA Today

Ebola; US Hospital Investment
Wednesday, December 10 with Lawrence O Gostin
Mother Jones

Ebola and Beyond
Friday, November 21 with Lawrence O Gostin
The Jewish Business News

Cost of Ebola
Sunday, November 16 with Lawrence O Gostin
USA Today

The Ethics of Infection
Saturday, November 8 with Lawrence O Gostin
The New York Times

Why Berkeley Passed a Soda Tax and S.F. Didn’t
Friday, November 7 with Lawrence O Gostin
The San Francisco Chronicle

Ebola: Obama Seeks $6 Billion to Fight Epidemic
Thursday, November 6 with Lawrence O Gostin
MedPage Today

On Travel Bans, Quarantines and ʺBenign Neglect of the Real Situationʺ
Tuesday, November 4 with Lawrence O Gostin
Ebola Deeply

Ebola Quarantines Complicate Holiday Travel Plans, May Deter Aid Workers
Monday, November 3 with Lawrence O Gostin
Washington Times

WHO Africa to Elect New Leader Amid Criticism for Botching Response to Ebola
Monday, November 3 with Lawrence O Gostin
Associated Press

Aggressive Ebola quarantines: What Does the Law Say?
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
Fortune

Experts Talk About Critical Ebola Missteps in the US
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
WJLA

Federal Actions Reflect Limited Role in Quarantine
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
Boston Globe

New Jersey Releases Ebola Protocol Details
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
Associated Press

Nurse Kaci Hickox steps up Ebola quarantine battle
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
Today

States Quarrel Over Quarantine
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
Thom Hartmann Program

The United States’ Misguided Self-Interest On Ebola
Friday, October 31 with Lawrence O Gostin
Health Affairs

AP IMPACT: US Not Prepared for Ebola Crisis
Thursday, October 30 with Lawrence O Gostin
Associated Press

Blocking Ebola
Thursday, October 30 with Lawrence O Gostin
The O'Reilly Factor

Ebola Quarantines: Can States Do That?
Thursday, October 30 with Lawrence O Gostin
Washington Post

Is US Health Care Unprepared for Ebola
Thursday, October 30 with Lawrence O Gostin
CIO Today

The Renegade Nurse
Thursday, October 30 with Lawrence O Gostin
The Atlantic