Volume 32
Issue 2
Winter '18

Current Developments in Immigration Law: The Permanent Muslim Ban

Written By: Sirine Shebaya


On September 24, 2017, President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation1 indefinitely banning travel to the United States for most nationals from six Muslim-majority countries: Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen. The Proclamation banned all immigrants from the six countries, and had varying restrictions on non-immigrant travel, from a complete ban in the case of Syria to additional scrutiny and vetting in the case of Somalia.2 It also banned all immigrant and non-immigrant travel from North Korea, along with some non-immigrant travel for certain government officials and their family members from Venezuela.3 Almost everyone affected by the Proclamation is from the six Muslim-majority countries, which collectively are almost 95% Muslim and have a combined population of around 150 million.

Continue Reading Current Developments in Immigration Law

Subscribe to GILJ