Kathryn Pincus teaches “A Due Process Hearing Simulation: Protecting the Rights of a Student With a Disability.” Early in her career, Kathryn practiced corporate and commercial litigation at Morris, Nichols, Arsht & Tunnell LLP, representing Fortune 500 corporations in Delaware’s Chancery Court and the United States District Court for the District of Delaware. Kathryn then moved to Pepper Hamilton LLP, to practice employment and education law. At Pepper Hamilton, Kathryn represented employers in matters involving Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, the Americans With Disabilities Act, the National Labor Relations Act, and other state and federal laws regarding workplace safety, wages and benefits. Kathryn also had the life-changing experience of representing Delaware’s largest public school district (“Red Clay”) in federal court desegregation proceedings, and in proceedings regarding special education and student conduct and discipline. In her work with Red Clay, Kathryn saw first-hand the impact of educational inequity. This experience inspired Kathryn to pursue opportunities to address that problem.

In 2015, Kathryn became a founding board member, president and counsel to Leading Youth Through Empowerment (“LYTE”), a nonprofit organization that is changing the academic trajectory of underserved youth in Delaware. Through personal mentoring, after school and summer academic programming, and other supports, LYTE prepares middle school students to attend rigorous high school programs and then colleges. Today LYTE serves hundreds of Delaware’s historically underserved students, with 97% going to college and receiving substantial grants, scholarships and aid. In 2019-2020, Kathryn volunteered as an Attorney-Mentor with Georgetown Law’s “Street Law” Program, helping with the instruction and mock-trial preparation of students at Dunbar High School in Northeast D.C. Kathryn received her J. D. from Georgetown Law and her B.A., magna cum laude, from the University of Delaware. Kathryn is admitted to practice law in Delaware (1991) and the District of Columbia (1992).