15th Annual Immigration Law and Policy Conference

September 28, 2018

WASHINGTON – USCIS Director L. Francis Cissna to deliver keynote Monday, Oct. 1 at the 15th Annual Immigration Law and Policy Conference at Georgetown Law.


U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Director L. Francis Cissna will deliver the keynote address at the 15th Annual Immigration Law and Policy Conference, sponsored by the Migration Policy Institute, Georgetown Law and Catholic Legal Immigration Network, Inc. Expert panels will discuss the political implications of the Trump administration’s controversial immigration policies as well as examining the policies in depth.  Topics include shifts in U.S. asylum policy; family separation at the border; interior enforcement, including responses to sanctuary city policies; and a range of policies aimed at narrowing legal immigration, including changes to visa, DACA, and Temporary Protected Status policies.


L. Francis Cissna, Director of U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services • Doris Meissner, MPI; former INS Commissioner • Maria Cardona, Dewey Square Group • William A. Galston, The New Center; Brookings Institution • Dara Lind, Vox • Barry Jackson, former chief of staff to John Boehner • Andrew I. Schoenholtz, Georgetown Law • Shalyn Fluharty, Dilley Pro Bono Project; Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid’s Family Detention Project • Christopher J. Hajec, Immigration Reform Law Institute • Karen Musalo, Center for Gender and Refugee Studies and the Refugee and Human Rights Clinic • Mauzaffar Chishti, MPI; NYU School of Law • Jonathan Blitzer, The New Yorker • Ur Jaddou, former chief counsel, USCIS; DHS Watch • James F. Peterson, Judicial Watch • Bitta Mostofi, NYC Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs • Jill Bussey, CLINIC • H.E. Paul G. Altidor, Ambassador of Haiti • Rebecca K. Peters, Council for Global Immigration • Julie Kornfeld, International Refugee Assistance Project


Monday, October 1, 2018
9:00 am – 5:00 pm

View a detailed schedule.


Georgetown Law
Hart Auditorium
600 New Jersey Ave. NW
Washington, D.C.  20001