Professor Anita Krishnakumar is an expert on statutory interpretation. She teaches Legislation and Statutory Interpretation, Administrative Law, Trusts and Estates, and a Colloquium on Advanced Topics in Legislation. Her scholarship focuses on statutory interpretation and the legislative process, including the congressional budget process, lobbying regulations, and interpretive trends in the Supreme Court’s statutory jurisprudence. Her articles have appeared or are forthcoming in the Harvard Law Review, the Stanford Law Review, the University of Chicago Law Review, the Yale Law Journal, the New York University Law Review, the Virginia Law Review, the Duke Law Journal, and the Harvard Journal on Legislation, among others. Professor Krishnakumar is a past Chair and Executive Board member of the Legislation Section of the Association of American Law Schools, the current editor of the SSRN eJournal on Legislation and Statutory Interpretation, and a contributor to Rick Hasen’s Election Law Blog, She holds an A.B. with distinction from Stanford University and a J.D. from Yale Law School, where she was Chair of the Notes Committee for the Yale Law Journal, a Senior Editor on the Yale Law and Policy Review, and a Coker Teaching Fellow in Constitutional Law.

Professor Krishnakumar clerked for the Hon. José A. Cabranes on the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. She practiced in the appellate litigation group at Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw and in the general litigation group at Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton. From 2006 to 2021, she was a professor at St. John’s University School of Law, where she received several Dean’s teaching awards and held the inaugural Mary C. Daly faculty chair.


Forthcoming Works - Journal Articles & Working Papers

Anita S. Krishnakumar, What the New Major Questions Doctrine is Not, 92 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. (forthcoming). [SSRN]
Anita S. Krishnakumar, Grammar Arguments on the Modern Court, 32 J.L. & Pol’y (forthcoming).
Anita S. Krishnakumar, Practical Consequences in Statutory Interpretation (working paper).
Anita Krishnakumar, Textualism in Practice, Duke L.J. (forthcoming). [Gtown Law] [SSRN]

Contributions to Law Reviews and Other Scholarly Journals

Anita S. Krishnakumar, Statutory History, 108 Va. L. Rev. 263-351 (2022).
[WWW] [HEIN] [W] [L] [SSRN]