Fifteen Georgetown Law Alumni in 115th Congress

November 10, 2016

When the 115th United States Congress convenes in January, it will include two newly elected Georgetown Law alumni, bringing the total number of Law Center graduates serving in Congress to 15. Five serve in the Senate and 10 serve in the House of Representatives; Georgetown Law Professor and D.C. Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton also won re-election.

“We are especially pleased to have 16 members of our community continuing the Law Center’s long tradition of government service,” said Georgetown Law Dean William M. Treanor. “We congratulate the newest alumni members of the 115th Congress, and wish all of them the best in the years ahead.”

Chris Van Hollen (L’90)(D-Md.), who has served in the House of Representatives since 2003, has been elected to the Senate. He will join incumbents Dick Durbin (F’66, L’69)(D-Ill.), Rep. Mazie Hirono (L’78) (D-Hawaii), Patrick Leahy (L’64, H’94) (D-Vt.) and Dan Sullivan (L’93, MSFS’93)(R-Alaska).

Five is the highest number of Georgetown Law alumni to serve in the Senate in a particular session of Congress; five alumni also served in the 114th Congress and the 111th Congress.

John Faso (L’79)(R-N.Y.) and Francis Rooney (C’75, L’78)(R-Fla.) have been newly elected to the House of Representatives. Law Center graduates re-elected to the House include David Cicilline (L’86)(D-R.I.), Barbara Comstock (L’86)(R-Va.), John Delaney (L’88)(D-Md.), Lois Frankel, L’73 (D-Fla.), Ann McLane Kuster (L’84) (D-N.H.), Ted Lieu (L’94)(D-Calif.), Peter Visclosky (LL.M.’82)(D-Ind.) and Steny Hoyer (L’66)(D-Md.)

Leahy, who was first elected in 1975, is the longest serving member of the current Senate and the fifth longest serving senator in U.S. history. Leahy is currently the Ranking Member on the Senate Judiciary Committee; Durbin is currently the minority (Democratic) whip in the Senate.

Hoyer, who was elected in 1981, will be serving his 18th term in the House. Hoyer is currently the minority (Democratic) whip.

Professor Eleanor Holmes Norton, who currently teaches a year-long Lawmaking and Statutory Interpretation Seminar at the Law Center, has served as the District of Columbia delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives since her election in 1990.

Following the 2014 congressional race, Georgetown Law was the second among law schools, after Harvard, in the number of law alumni serving in the 114th Congress — with five in the Senate and nine in the House.