Honorary Degree Recipients

Commencement SpeakerThe Honorary Degree Committee, which is composed of deans, faculty, and a student, select the Honorary Degree recipients.  The 2017 Honorary Degree Recipients will be announced in Spring 2017.

Past Recipients:


  • Eric David Rosenthal, L'92
    Founder and Executive Director, Disability Rights International
  • Zhang Yuejiao, L'83
    Appellate Body Member, World Trade Organization


  • Stephen B. Bright
    Southern Center for Human Rights
  • Claudia Paz y Paz Bailey
    Former Attorney General of Guatemala


  • Kenneth Feinberg
    Georgetown Law Adjunct Professor
  • Joan Biskupic
    Journalist, Author, American Original: The Life and Constitution of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia


  • Walter Haskell Pincus L'01
    Columnist for The Washington Post
  • Greta Van Susteren L'79, L'83
    Commentator, Fox News 


  • John A. Payton (deceased)
    Former president and director-counsel NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund
  • Arthur J. Gajarsa
    Senior Judge, US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit


  • Brendan V. Sullivan Jr. C'64 L'67
    Partner, Williams & Connolly LLP
  • Senior Judge Gladys Kessler
    U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia


  • The Right Honourable Baroness Brenda Hale of Richmond
    Justice of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom
  • Judge David S. Tatel
    U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

On The Web

Maps & Directions

Google Location Map Georgetown University Law Center 600 New Jersey Avenue NW Washington, DC 20001