Blume Scholars will receive a suite of financial supports that include increased funding for their public interest summers and postgrad experiences.  Details about these benefits will be released in early 2024.

Note: Starting in 2024, Blume Scholars will no longer receive a full-tuition scholarship; they will, however, be eligible for a wide range of merit scholarships and financial aid offerings from the school.  They will also benefit from Georgetown’s nationally leading Loan Repayment Assistance Program and the federal Income-Driven Repayment and Public Service Loan Forgiveness programs, which empower borrowers to pursue public interest careers free from overly burdensome loan payments.

Mentorship & Networking

Scholars receive academic advice and support from faculty mentors, as well as professional support from practicing public interest attorney mentors. Mentors are assigned with Blume scholars’ preferences and practice area interests in mind.

A sampling of faculty advisors includes:

Abbe Smith Andy Schoenholtz David Cole Deborah Epstein Julie O’Sullivan Paul Butler Sheryll Cashin
Allegra McLeod Anne Fleming David Koplow Eloise Pasachoff Larry Gostin Peter Byrne Vida Johnson
Amanda Levendowski Brian Wolfman David Super Janel George Mary DeRosa Phil Schrag

Finally, first-year scholars are paired with second-year and third-year students who support new Blumes in their transition into law school. Many scholars find friendship and community within the program that continues throughout life after graduation.


Throughout the year, scholars participate in a number of personally and professionally enriching events. Starting in 2024, Scholars will participate in Public Interest Orientation.  Other events may include happy hours, meals with professors, and professional development conversations. Scholars are also invited to meals with speakers including Blume Leaders in Residence, and upper class Scholars enroll in the Blume Upper Level Seminar, taught by visiting Leaders in Residence. Past speakers at Blume events have included U.S. Senator, Tim Kaine; Legal Director of the ACLU, David Cole; Congressman Jamie Raskin, and Associate Director-Counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Janai Nelson, to name a few. Additionally, Blume alumni R. Daniel Okonkwo (‘05), Whiquitta “Kee” Tobar (‘15), Adina Appelbaum (‘15) Elizabeth Keyes (‘04), and Gretchen Rohr (‘03) have all returned to Georgetown to speak to current scholars.